Back Home For Awhile (Updates)

A few months ago, I set myself a goal of trying to post on The Irie Explorer twice a week. So far I’ve done really well, positing an average of 2-3 times per week. For the past two weeks, however, I haven’t posted at all.

It’s not for lack of time – as other than my work schedule and a few social arrangements here and there, I don’t have much on the go at the moment. But perhaps that’s the reason why I haven’t been updating, instead of the solution?

For the first time in a very, very long time, I don’t have any travel planned. It seems a sort of suicide confession from a blogger whose blog is focused solely on travel, but it’s the truth. The past several years of my life I’ve either been abroad, or had plans to travel abroad soon. Now I have neither.

Stuck smack in the middle of a cold Canadian winter. It's a bit hard to find inspiration here...

Stuck smack in the middle of a cold Canadian winter. It’s a bit hard to find inspiration here…

The beginning of this year saw my travels start strong – I rang in the New Year on a beach in Melbourne after already being in Australia for two months. Then I spent another month in Australia before heading home to Canada in late January. I was only back from Australia for a mere six days before I flew to St. Thomas and spent the next week sailing around the BVI’s. Since then, however, the reality has sunk in that I’m really not going anywhere anytime soon. 

My goal for the next few weeks is to focus solely on working hard and saving money. As you can imagine, three months in Australia has left me with empty pockets yet again, and I now need to take some time to repair the damage. Until I can build up a little nest egg again, I’m not even thinking about booking a trip to go away. For a perpetual traveller like myself, this is more than a bit depressing, but it is a reality of life.

It’s not all doom and gloom though, there are ways in which I’m keeping myself motivated… which actually just gave me a few ideas for future blog posts. Ha!

I, of course, will still be posting on Irie and updating with new content even while I’m not travelling. It’s probably what’s going to help keep me sane. I’ve been reading travel blogs now more than ever, and it’s keeping my spirits up to live vicariously through others who are travelling and exploring new places.

I guess the reason I wrote this post is because I felt I owed you all an explanation for my temporary absence. I am still committed to this crazy, wonderful thing I started here, and I will always be around for you and for The Irie Explorer.

If you want to talk to me about any questions, comments, ideas or suggestions about my blog or travel in general, now is a great time to do so. My email is liane.meyerink@gmail.com and I will always be here to respond to your thoughts.

Thanks for (still) reading, haha.

Liane xx

Leave a Reply

